Structure and organization

IRYCIS Members

The Ramón y Cajal Health Research Institute was established by the Madrid Health Service, Alcalá de Henares University, Madrid Complutense University, Autonomous University, the Foundation for Biomedical Research of Ramón y Cajal University Hospital and the General Directorate of Health Research, Education and Infrastructures of the Community of Madrid by an agreement signed on the 15th December 2009.

Organizational structure

IRYCIS organises its research into five priority thematic areas, in which 37 research groups (34 consolidated groups and 3 emerging groups) are arranged.

The consolidated and emerging groups have Principal Investigators with projects of the National R&D&i Plan or of the European Union Framework Programme, with an accumulated bibliographic impact factor over 50 points during the last 5 years and with over 70% of their publications positioned in quartiles 1 and 2 (Source: Institute for Scientific Information, Web of Knowledge).

A large number of Clinical Research Associates (CRAs) also contribute to the research of IRYCIS, who perform clinical trials and/or projects financed by private companies, with an accumulated impact factor in the last 5 years below 50 points and/or less than 70% of their publications are positioned in the first and second quartile.