Comité Científico Externo

The External Scientific Committee is the advisory body of the IRYCIS. It is made up of a minimum of five highly qualified professionals with recognised experience in the field of research.


  • Issuing opinions at the request of the Governing Council or the Delegate Commission.
  • Assessing and studying the possible association of new entities to the IRYCIS. In those cases in which the association of a new entity is considered positive, the External Scientific Committee will transfer the request for association to the Governing Council for its approval. 
  • In general, the advice of the IRYCIS.


Dr.  Javier De Felipe Oroquieta
Research Professor
Cajal Institute (CSIC), Madrid

Dr.  Francisco García del Portillo
Research Professor
National Biotechnology Centre-CSIC. Madrid

Dr.  José Antonio Gutiérrez Fuentes
Fundación GADEA por la Ciencia – Director

Dr. Fernando Martín Sánchez
Research Professor
E-Health Programme Coordinator
National School of Health
Carlos III Health Institute. Madrid

Prof. Manuel Romero Gómez 
Managing Director
Virgen Macarena University Hospital - Virgen del Rocío. Seville
Professor of Medicine, University of Seville.

Dr. Lluís Blanch Torra
Director of Innovation at Hospital Parc Taulí. President of the Spanish Society of Intensive Care Medicine.
Parc Taulí Health Corporation. Sabadell

Dr. Francisco X. Real Arribas
Head of Epithelial Carcinogenesis Group
CNIO. Madrid

Prof.  Gema Frühbeck Martínez 
Director of the Metabolic Research Laboratory. University Clinic of Navarra

Dra. Pura Muñoz Cánoves 
Head of the ICREA Cell Biology Group
Department of Experimental Life Sciences
Pompeu Fabra University. Barcelona.

Dr. José Gerardo García-Lerma
Head of the Antiretroviral Prophylaxis Group
Laboratory Branch. Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention

Prof. María Isabel Fabregat Romero
Head of TGF-beta and Cancer Group
Bellvitge Institute of Biomedical Research
Professor at the University of Barcelona

Prof. Laura Lechuga Gómez 
Professor at CSIC
Head of the Nanobiosensors and Bioanalytical Applications group at ICN2
Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. Barcelona.

Prof. Laura Sánchez Piñón 
Professor of Genetics and Head of the Zebrabiores group.
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. Department of Zoology, Genetics and Physical Anthropology.
University of Santiago de Compostela. Galicia.

Dra. María Teresa Moreno Casbas 
Head of the ISCIII Research in Care Unit (INVESTEN)
Director of the Joanna Briggs Spanish Collaborating Centre for Evidence-Based Care (CECBE)